Shaun King's Substack
The Breakdown with Shaun King
Ep. 363 - Understanding the Inside/Outside Ways of Fighting for Change
0:00
-25:13

Ep. 363 - Understanding the Inside/Outside Ways of Fighting for Change

Today I want to share a painful, personal story about a lesson that I learned about organizing for change as an outsider and organizing for change as an insider. In the winter of 2014, I found myself in a deep funk after failing in so many fights for families fighting for justice. And I got a call from The White House that forever changed the way I saw my role in this movement. I wanted to speak like and lead like Malcolm, but have the access to rooms of power and privilege like Martin. It didn't work. Let me unpack and explain how that informs almost everything I do as a leader today.
----
If you listen to The Breakdown and want to help support the work we do, consider becoming a member of our Patreon at www.patreon.com/thebreakdown for exclusive members perks and early access to content.

0 Comments